Moving from iTunes to Zune

Just picked up a snazzy new Windows Phone? The only music app you’ve ever used is iTunes? Don’t fret! Zune is simple and I’ll show you how to get that fun loving, eclectic, indie rocking music library into your Windows Phone.

1. Install Zune to your PC from www.zune.net

 2. Hit download now

3. Launch Zune

4. You will select some of your favorite artists or you can skip this step. Selecting an artist gives you fast access each time you open Zune. If you skip the this area will just be blank until you assign an artist or album to it.

5. If you already have your Live ID set up then Sign In. If you don’t have a Live ID, head over to www.outlook.com and register.

6. Click on Settings

7. If you didn’t change settings in your iTunes then your music should be stored in “My Music” If your current iTunes library shows in your Zune collection then you’re good to go and you can skip steps 8-11.

8. For any additional drives or folders you want Zune to see click Manage

9. I also have music on an external hard drive for this example so I would click Add

10. Select the drive you want to add

11.  Zune will take a minute to read your new drive or folder and add its contents to your Zune library

12.  Plug your Windows Phone into your PC. If this is your first time plugging in then you will have to name your phone and Zune will check for any updates.

 13.  Choose what you want to sync14. Simply drag and drop Artists, Albums or Songs onto your phone in the lower left hand corner. Or Right click and choose Sync

15.  To add a playlist choose playlists from the right hand side and again drag the playlist onto your phone and drop.
16.  You’re done! Your new Windows Phone is up and running! Windows Phone keeps all your music in one place. To find it on the phone open the Music and Video hub.

8 thoughts on “Moving from iTunes to Zune

  1. WOW that’s was so helpful just like my new WP!!! I don’t know why I stuck myself with a junky product for as long as I have. My new Nokia 900 is the best smartphone I have ever owned!!! Thanks you MS!!!

  2. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the closing phase 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a very lengthy time. Thanks and good luck.

  3. Excellent items from you, man. I have be mindful your stuff prior to and you are simply too magnificent. I really like what you’ve obtained here, really like what you are saying and the way in which during which you are saying it. You are making it entertaining and you still take care of to stay it sensible. I can not wait to learn much more from you. This is really a terrific site.

  4. You can definitely see your enthusiasm within the paintings you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  5. Pingback: Review & How-To SoundGecko « FL Chic Geek

  6. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to give one thing back and aid others such as you helped me.

Leave a Reply

